Categories of Haram (Prohibited)
Food and Drinks
Haram is the opposite of Halal. Haram food has the
opposite definition of Halal food. In short, Haram
food or drinks are not allowed to be consumed.
Haram Can Become Halal
In case of necessity, Muslims are allowed to consume
Haram food and drinks such as pork, dead animals
and wine as the Shari'ah rule states "Necessity
dictates exceptions". This rule is backed by
the Quranic verses:
"O you who believe eat of the good things that
We have provided for you and be grateful to Allah
if its him you worship. He has only forbidden you
dead meat and blood and the flesh of swine and that
on which any other name has been invoked besides
that of Allah, but if one is forced by necessity
without willful disobedience, nor transgressing
due limits then is he guiltless for Allah is Oft-Forgiving
Most Merciful" [Al-Baqarah (2), verse 172-173].
What are haram food and drinks?
Haram food or drinks are determined by one or more
of the following factors:
Prohibited by a clear legal evidence,
Contain unlawful or filthy elements,
Unclean and impure,
Harmful to human body and health,
Animals not slaughtered in the Islamic manner,
Animals dedicated to someone other than Allah,
Four categories of food and drinks
prohibited in Islam :
1. Prohibited By Itself
- This category comprises any food and drink prohibited
by a clear text from the Quran.
2. Prohibited Due To External Factors
- Any food or drinks which are basically Halal but
transformed into Haram due to one of the Haram determining
factors thereby making them prohibited.
3. Prohibited Due To Harmfulness
- Any food or drinks that harm human body or health.
4. Prohibited Due To Impurity And Filthiness
- Any food or drinks that are not clean and pure
are Haram. The goodness and wholesomeness of food
and drinks are deteriorated by filth and impurity
thus making them Haram.
Malaysia Halal Foods Dot Com